The Symphony Volunteer Council of the Alabama Symphonic Association, Inc. is the largest volunteer organization supporting the orchestra. With a membership of more than 300, the Council's mission is to foster, promote and advance the goals of the Alabama Symphony Orchestra through fundraising, assisting with the ASO's educational programs and providing support for the administration staff. Click Here to visit the Symphony Volunteer Council's website.

The Lois Pickard Music Scholarship Competition
Since 1998, the SVC has sponsored an annual music competition for talented students from age 12 through high school senior. Named in honor of the founding member of the volunteer organization for the ASo, the Lois Pickard Music Scholarship has awarded over $83,650 to winners in three competition categories. The 1st and 2nd place winners of each category perform at the annual luncheon attended by Council members and guests.

Decorators' ShowHouse
Each year, the SVC sponsors the Decorators' ShowHouse, one of the largest fundraising projects for the ASO. During the past 36 years, the Council has donated more than $5 million from this massive volunteer effort.

Endowed Chairs
The ASO would not enjoy its current or future success without the hundreds of volunteers who give tirelessly of their time, their talents and their resources. During the rebirth of the ASO in 1995, the SVC committed to raise $2 million for the ASO's endowment fund. In recognition of achieving the first $1 million, the Principal Clarinet Chair was endowed by the Council. After a very successful 2010 Decorator's ShowHouse, the Council completed the second $1 million of its pledge and endowed the Principal Horn Chair. Please click here to see more about the endowed chairs.

2016-2017 Executive Board


Char Bonsack

Executive Vice-President
Debra Gilbreath

Vice-Presidents Education
Linda Griggs, Mimi Jackson, Debbie Reid

Vice-Presidents Hospitality
Phyllis Davis, Betsy Cooper, Sandra Wilson

Vice-Presidents Membership
Martha and Bob Black

Recording Secretary
Diane Ray

Corresponding Secretary
Tonie Bone

Mike Griggs

Assistant Treasurer
Bob Brown

Liz Warren

Immediate Past President
Cheree Carlton

Committee Chairs

Guest Artist Hospitality
Emily Omura

Roberta Atkinson

Legislative Liason
Rosa Minehan

Lois Pickard Chairman
Debra Gilbreath

Orchestra Hospitality
Beverly Lisenby

Kathie Ramsey

Volunteer Coordinator
Shirley Brown

Sandra Annonio

Decorators' ShowHouse Chairman
Char Bonsack and Molly Bee Bloetscher

Join us in supporting our symphony! To become a member or for more information, please contact Nicole Williams, Director of Development, at 205.314.6958 or via email.